Day in Rock logo

Day in Rock Report for 07/14/2022

Megadeth cofounder David Ellefson's new supergroup Dieth have premiered a music video for their debut single, "In The Hall Of The Hanging Serpents".

Ellefson is joining the international death/thrash metal band by guitarist/vocalist Guilherme Miranda (ex-Entombed A.D.), drummer Michal Lysejko (ex-Decapitated). (read more)

Ozzy Osbourne has announced that he will make his debut at this year's San Diego Comic Convention (Comic-Con International) on Friday, July 22nd.

Osbourne and Todd McFarlane will reveal artwork for the limited-edition special McFarlane-designed comic book (that is available that is part of some of the special edition album packages) along with a signing at the Stern Pinball/Rebellion Republic booth, further details of which will be announced soon. (read more)

A few months after introducing Rudy Flores as their new frontman, Bleed the Sky have announced that they have officially terminated the vocalist.

The band parted ways with singer Noah Robison back in April and then introduced Flores as their new vocalist with the release of the song "Rot In Flesh." (read more)

(hennemusic) The Rolling Stones performed the "Exile On Main St." rarity, "Sweet Virginia", by fan-voted request during a show in Amsterdam on July 7th and video of the performance has been shared online.

The event marked the 60th anniversary tour debut of the song, with the band's 1967 track, "Let's Spend The Night Together", also making its first appearance during the trek. (read more)

Death Cab for Cutie have released a music video for their brand new single, "Here to Forever." The visual was written and directed by filmmaker Lance Bangs (Sonic Youth, Nirvana, Kanye West).

Lead vocalist and guitarist Ben Gibbard had this to say, "It's a song both about our impermanence and the anxiety of these times. It's also about wanting to believe in something bigger even when it feels like nothing is out there." (read more)

Dirty Heads have revealed their cover of Eagles icon Joe Walsh's 1978 classic hit, "Life's Been Good", which is the follow-up to their hit single, "Vacation.

Lead singer Jared Watson had this to say, "'Life's Been Good' is the perfect follow up to 'Vacation.' It just felt right. If you like the vibe of 'Vacation,' if that song impacted your life in a positive way, this is a continuation of that feeling. And I think the story of enjoying life is really what Dirty Heads are all about." (read more)

Indianapolis based roots rock/pop singer-songwriter Brett Wiscons just released his new album Late Bloomer" , and to celebrate, we asked him to tell us about the song, "Collection of Hearts." Here is the story:

The germ of this idea was actually given to me by my buddy, Andrew Clark, down in Tennessee. He's not a songwriter, but he is a dynamo on the karaoke circuit. We've been close friends for 35+ years. Anyhow, we were talking one day about life and love in general, and he mentioned how, when he looked back on his life, all he had to show for it was a collection of hearts. Mostly, broken ones. However, he thought, and I agreed, that we can all learn from our past relationships and hopefully improve upon ourselves as we enter into the next one. (continue)

Skid Row have released a new song and video called "Tear It Down". The track comes from their upcoming Nick Raskulinecz-produced album The Gang's All Here, which will arrive on October 14th.

Atom Splitter shared these details: "Tear It Down" is everything fans ever loved about Skid Row all in one - swaggering vocals, a signature guitar riff, groove to burn, and a call to action. (read more)

God Is An Astronaut have released a music video for the new live studio version of their classic song "Route 666", which comes from their forthcoming, "The Beginning Of The End".

The live studio album will feature all of the songs from the band's 2002 debut album, "The End Of The Beginning" and was recorded at Windmill Lane Recording Studio in Dublin, Ireland on October 3, 2021. (read more)

Carnifex have shared a re-recorded version of their song "Lie To My Face" featuring Adam Warren of Oceano to celebrate their upcoming "Dead In My Arms" that will feature Oceano and Spite.

Scott Ian Lewis had this to say, "We couldn't be happier to be celebrating 15 years of Dead In My Arms with a special version of LTMF featuring our good friend Adam Warren of Oceano. (read more)

Architects have shared a brand new song called "Tear Gas", which is the lead single from their forthcoming album, "the classic symptoms of a broken spirit", which will arrive on October 21st.

We were sent these details: Produced by Dan Searle and Josh Middleton, with additional production from Sam Carter at Deacon's Middle Farm Studios and their own HQ, Electric Studios in Brighton. (read more)

Love By Numb3rs have released a music video for their new single, "Earth Needs A Moon", which is the first song from their forthcoming sophomore album that will arrive on September 30th.

Co-vocalist Anna Lombard had this to say about the song and video, "Jon [Roods] and I co-directed and filmed this video. We also co-produced and edited ourselves, with the majority of the editing falling on Jon. (read more)

5 Seconds of Summer have released a brand new single called "Blender", a track from their 5th studio album, 5SOS5, which will arrive on September 23rd.

"Blender" was written and produced with the band by Peter Thomas (P!nk) and Jake Torrey (Justin Bieber, Maroon 5, John Legend). The majority of the new album written by the band and Michael Clifford leading on production. (read more)

Sweet Freedom just released their new album, According to Jorgen Schelander", and to celebrate we asked Jorgen to tell us about the song "The River Of Silver And Gold". Here is the story:

The River Of Silver And Gold is very special to me. I knew from the start when I got the intro chords that this was something different. I felt it was the anthem I've been looking for, and for quite some time I had only the intro and the piano riff. I also had the "I can hear the people singing" part lyrically. (continue)

Previous Day In Rock Reports

Bruce Springsteen US Tour- Five Finger Death Punch Team With Iron Maiden- Def Leppard Become Hard Rock Billionaires- more

Ronnie James Dio Wrote 'Holy Diver' For Black Sabbath- Nita Strauss Apparently Leaves Alice Cooper Band- Journey- more

David Lee Roth Shares New Song 'Pointing At The Moon'- Armor For Sleep Release First New Song In 15 Years- more

Carlos Santana Postpones More Dates To 'Recuperate Fully'- Iron Maiden Forced To Cancel Concert Due To Dangerous Weather- more

Guns N' Roses' Axl Rose Addresses Health Issues- The Gaslight Anthem Share Video From Surprise Comeback Show- more