Day in Rock logo

Day in Rock Report for 07/23/2022

Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor addressed the speculation that the band was planning to break-up that was sparked after the group announced their new album last week and that it would be called, "The End, So Far."

Taylor addressed the speculation during the band's appearance at the Hills Of Rock festival in Plovdiv, Bulgaria this past Thursday, July 21st. He told the crowd, "I'll tell you what, some of you might have heard the news that Slipknot has a new album coming out very, very soon. (read more)

Deep Purple guitarist Steve Morse has announced that he has officially left the group so that he can care for his wife Janine in her battle with cancer.

Morse had taken a hiatus from the group earlier this year with Simon McBride filling in for him. Steve joined the band in 1994, replacing legendary guitarist Ritchie Blackmore. (read more)

Dance Gavin Dance have released a visualizer video for their new single "Cream Of The Crop". The song comes from their forthcoming album, "Jackpot Juicer", which arrives this coming Friday, July 29th.

The band will be heading out on the road next week for the 'Evening With Friends Tour' that will feature an alternate band line-up with guitarist Andrew Wells taking over clean singing duties, Marc Okubo of Veil of Maya will be stepping in to cover Andrew's guitar duties and the band will be joined by former Dance Gavin Dance frontman and frontman of Royal Coda, Kurt Travis, for select songs. (read more)

(hennemusic) ZZ Top are streaming their new live album, "Raw", in sync with its release on July 22.

The project was recorded in connection with the group's 2019 Netflix documentary, "That Little Ol' Band From Texas"; the Grammy-nominated feature from Banger Films and director Sam Dunn includes an interlude that finds the group's classic line up - Billy Gibbons, Frank Beard and the late Dusty Hill - gathering for a very intimate session at Gruene Hall for a performance that provided the basis for the new release. (read more)

Cursive have announced a remastered reissue of their third album, Domestica, will be released on September 9th, 2022, via the band's own 15 Passenger Records.

A pivotal record for the band, it was the first with guitarist/backing vocalist Ted Stevens and first in a now-long line of concept albums. The reissue will mark Domestica's first vinyl pressing in years, and will be available in multiple variants, including: red and black swirl vinyl (exclusive to indie retailers); gold vinyl; and standard black vinyl. (read more)

Jack White celebrated the release of his new album, "Entering Heaven Alive" with his second live performance of the year on CBS's The Late Show With Stephen Colbert.

White and his band performed the song "If I Die Tomorrow," on the program on the eve of the album's release on Friday (July 22nd) and the performance has been shared online. (read more)

Dawes celebrated the release of their studio album, "Misadventures Of Doomscroller," with a historic performance on CBS Saturday Morning, and the show has shared video from the appearance.

The band took the stage on the program and performance their epic 10 minutes and five seconds long track "Someone Else's Cafe / Doomscroller Tries to Relax" which marked the longest live performance of a single song in US TV history. (read more)

Queensryche have shared a music video for their new single, "Forest". The track comes from their forthcoming album, "Digital Noise Alliance," arrives October 7th.

The band had this to say about the track, "The ballad of the album, 'Forest' embodies the sorrow of losing a loved one, trying to cope with such a profound loss, while occasionally feeling that person's presence around you and asking for a sign. (read more)

Goo Goo Dolls have released "You Are The Answer," the second song off of "Chaos in Bloom", the band's brand new forthcoming album that arrives on August 12th, 2022.

You Are The Answer'' is a melodic ballad that explores the experience of devoted love during times of difficulty. The new song comes on the heels of "Yeah I Like You," Goo Goo Dolls' first single from "Chaos in Bloom" that arrived earlier this summer. (read more)

Little Big Town has released a lyric video for their brand new single "Rich Man". The track comes from their forthcoming album, "Mr. Sun", which will hit stores on September 16th.-

LBT's Jimi Westbrook, who wrote the track, began toying with the idea of "Rich Man" more than a decade ago, with the concept growing more robust as time passed and life experiences happened. (read more)

Previous Day In Rock Reports

Ozzy Osbourne Reunites With Toni Iommi For 'Degradation Rules'- Megadeth Recruit Ice-T For 'Night Stalkers: Chapter II' Video- more

Muse Go Heavy With 'Kill Or Be Killed'- Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder Suffers Vocal Cord Damage- Ozzy Osbourne- Guns N' Roses- more

Slipknot Share 'The Dying Song (Time To Sing)' To Announce New Album- Dope To Offer Free Downloads Of New Album- Queen- more

Journey Top Rock Chart With New Album 'Freedom'- Carrie Underwood Gives Ozzy Osbourne Classic A Country Makeover- more

Zakk Wylde Beyond Honored To Be Part Of Pantera Celebration Tour- Van Halen Tribute Never Got Off The Ground Says Wolfgang- more